CanalBookShop Logo Link
The website for canal & waterway books, maps and DVDs
Back home  /  Structures  /  Seven Wonders of the Inland Waterways, The

The Seven Wonders of the Inland Waterways

  • Author: John Suggitt
  • Binding: Paperback
seven wonders of the inland waterways

In 1955, Robert Aickman, one of the founders of the Inland Waterways Association nine years earlier, wrote of his "Seven Wonders of the Waterways". Although this was Aickman's personal choice, most canal historians, commentators and enthusiasts still agree with Aickman's selection. The SevenWonders are illustrated on the front cover.

Five of the Wonders date from the Georgian age, when most canals were built (the late 18th and early 19th centuries), but two are later, from Victorian times (the last quarter of the 19th century) and feature hydraulic engineering, unavailable earlier.

One of the Wonders, Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, is now part of a World Heritage Site, and most are Scheduled Monuments or listed structures.

John Suggitt tells the history and background of all Seven Wonders, illustrated with many photographs, and specially drawn maps and diagrams.

This book also provides an informative background for those who are visiting the Seven Wonders of the Inland Waterways.

Contact Us

Audlem Mill Limited
The Wharf
Audlem, Cheshire

Find Us

© 2024 – Audlem Mill Limited
Company No. 06042417    VAT No. GB 616 8390 24